row-start col-sm-8 normal-section margin-top margin-bottom

Awards of Excellence

The National Hemophilia Foundation’s Awards of Excellence recognizes individuals whose commitment to serving the bleeding disorders community is an inspiration to us all.

How to Nominate an Award Candidate

Please read the descriptions for the Awards of Excellence to verify that your candidate is eligible and a good fit for the award. To ensure a smooth nomination process, please have the following required information on your candidate ready: 

1.    A short bio
2.    A letter of recommendation

NHF will not consider any applications that do not have these two elements.

Who Can Nominate Candidates

Nominations will be accepted from members of the bleeding disorders community, including NHF chapters, volunteers and HTC staff. Former and current NHF staff are ineligible to submit nominations. 

Who is Eligible for the Awards?

Each award has different eligibility criteria. They are written in the awards’ description. Any individual who meets the requirements is eligible to receive an award. Current NHF board members, NHF staff and paid consultants are not eligible to receive an award.


The deadline for submissions was Friday, May 1, 2020 at 11:59 PM (ET) and has now passed. Submissions are no longer accepted. 


You will be notified if your candidate has been selected to receive an award by Friday, May 15, 2020


Awards Recognizing Healthcare Providers and HTC Staff

Physician of the Year

Physician of the Year, named in honor of Kenneth Brinkhous, MD [1908-2000] honors a distinguished physician who has had a major impact on the lives of individuals with bleeding disorders. Such a person shows compassion and knowledge of the latest treatments, is a patient advocate, and is a committed caregiver whose concern for patients is apparent in everything he or she does. Dr. Brinkhous was a distinguished physician and professor whose research led to the development of revolutionary treatments for bleeding disorders.

Nurse of the Year

Nurse of the Year honors a nurse who has demonstrated service to the bleeding disorders community beyond day-to-day responsibilities. This individual serves as a role model for others in the field and has a minimum of two years' experience working in the bleeding disorders community.

Physical Therapist of the Year

Physical Therapist of the Year, named for Donna Boone, PT, honors an individual who has demonstrated service to the bleeding disorders community above and beyond daily responsibilities. This person serves as a role model for others in the field and has a minimum of two years’ experience working with individuals with bleeding disorders. Donna Boone [1932-2019] was a pioneer in the area of physical therapy and bleeding disorders and served as a mentor for many professionals.

Social Worker of the Year

Social Worker of the Year, named in honor of Jill Solomon, honors an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service to the bleeding disorders community beyond their day-to-day responsibilities. This person serves as a role model for others in the field and has a minimum of two years’ experience working with individuals with bleeding and clotting disorders. Jill Solomon was an NHF staff person who was a tireless advocate for social workers. She was beloved by the NHF Social Work Working Group, and the award was renamed in her honor following her death in 1997.

Humanitarian of the Year

Mary M. Gooley Humanitarian of the Year honors a non-provider HTC staff member who is dedicated to the families at their HTC and demonstrate a commitment to their care. This person has shown a caring and humane spirit in their work to improve the quality of life for patients and their families. Mary Gooley [1925-2019] devoted more than 40 years to the bleeding disorders community. She served as the executive director of the Hemophilia Center-Rochester Region, Inc.—now known as the Mary M. Gooley Hemophilia Center—and continued to volunteer after her retirement. 

Genetic Counselor of the Year

Genetic Counselor of the Year acknowledges an individual who has taken a leading role in assisting, guiding, and educating families and individuals on the genetic inheritance of bleeding disorders. For nearly all our families who learn they are carriers of an inheritable bleeding disorder, the genetic counselor is often the first person to foster the family's understanding and to help them make informed decisions for the life ahead of them. The Genetic Counselor of the Year is both an expert and empathetic. He or she is current with the latest research in anticipation of an enhanced role in the expanding arena of molecular therapies for coagulation disorders.


Awards Honoring Community Advocates, Volunteers, and Chapter Staff

Ryan White Youth Award

The Ryan White Youth Award, named in honor of Ryan White, is presented to a young person (8-25 years old) who has helped educate others both within the bleeding disorders community and among the general population by increasing awareness and understanding. Ryan White [1972-1990] had severe hemophilia and contracted AIDS in 1984 through infusion of contaminated clotting factor. He brought national attention to hemophilia and its complications, changed people's prejudicial attitudes, educated the public and generated national compassion.

Loras Goedken Outstanding Leadership Award

Loras Goedken Outstanding Leadership Award, named in honor of Loras Goedken, is presented to a current chapter board member (serving within 2019-2020) who has demonstrated leadership and engagement to the benefit of their chapter and their local community. Loras Goedken [1944-1997] was a proactive leader. His family's story made national news and brought awareness for the bleeding disorders community. He was a tireless advocate, served in his chapter, and was active on many local boards, government, and support groups. 


Advocate of the Year

Advocate of the Year, named in honor of Joseph Early and Dr. L. Michael Kuhn, recognizes a person who plays an active role in their chapter’s advocacy program, advocates on behalf of the community and displays a commitment to ensuring people with bleeding disorder have access to treatment and care. US Rep. Joseph D. Early [1933-2012] was a high-ranking member of the House Appropriations Committee until 1993 and a champion for treatment of people with bleeding disorders. Dr. L. Michael Kuhn [1929-1974] was a dedicated treater of people with bleeding disorders and a strong advocate for the bleeding disorders community. 

Chapter Volunteer of the Year

The Volunteer of the Year award recognizes a chapter volunteer who has made a lasting impact on their local chapter through their leadership, volunteer efforts, engagement and advocacy. The recipient has shown dedication to the mission of their chapter over the years and has served as a valuable resource for their local community.  

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award, named in honor of Dick James, recognizes an individual who has dedicated his/her life to the bleeding disorders community in order to improve the lives of those affected. This person has contributed his or her time and energy on a national or international scale to advance research, care, and advocacy, and develop new leadership that will lead this organization into the future. Dick James [1951-1993], who had hemophilia and AIDS, was an advocate and leader on behalf of people with bleeding disorders and HIV.






row-mid col-sm-4 top-overlap no-pad
NHF Logo
row-mid col-sm-4 border-top margin-top

Share This Event

row-mid margin-top col-sm-4